Skip to Content

CBP Announces Arrival Restrictions on Passengers from the Congo or Guinea

4 Mar

On March 4, 2021, the U.S. Customs and Border Protection announced that international flights carrying individuals recently present in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) or the Republic of Guinea within 21 days prior to entry or attempted entry in the U.S., will only be permitted to arrive at the following U.S. airports: 

  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (New York); 
  • Chicago O’Hare International Airport (Illinois); 
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (Georgia); 
  • Washington-Dulles International Airport (Virginia); 
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (New Jersey); and 
  • Los Angeles International Airport (California). 

This change will go into effect for all flights into the U.S. beginning March 5th. The rationale for the arrival restrictions is to limit the potential spread of the Ebola virus into the United States. These six (6) international airports receive the largest number of travelers and are currently implementing enhanced public health measures in these countries. 
Foster will continue to monitor changes related to various travel restrictions and will make additional updates available via our firm’s website at