Skip to Content

COLOMBIA – Mercosur Temporary Residence Visa (TP-15) Now Available to Non-Mercosur Dependents

26 Jan

Mercosur is a South American customs union and trading block which includes Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay and Venezuela as full members; Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador and Peru as associate members; and Guyana and Suriname as observers. The Mercosur Temporary Residence Visa, also known as the TP-15, was enacted on May 21, 2014 by the Colombian Ministry of Foreign Affairs. This visa may be issued for up to two (2) years to nationals of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, and Uruguay. Eligibility for the TP-15 visa has been suspended for Venezuelan nationals. Holders of the TP-15 visa may undertake business, educational, or work activities for any employer in Colombia. The visa may be applied for upon arrival into Colombia or abroad at a Colombian consulate prior to travel.

A recent amendment to the regulations now allows non-Mercosur national spouses, parents, and children under 25 years of age to obtain TP-15 dependent visas. Although the TP-15 dependent visa does not confer work authorization, non-Mercosur family members may reside in Colombia and engage in educational activities. Prior to this amendment, Mercosur nationals were not eligible to sponsor dependent visas, and non-Mercosur dependents were required to qualify independently under a separate visa category.

As a reminder, all foreign nationals who obtain visas issued valid for greater than three (3) months must register with the Special Colombian Migration Administrative Unit within fifteen (15) calendar days from their initial entry into the country or from the issuance of the visa, whichever is later.

As always, Foster will continue to monitor global immigration regulations, requirements, and procedures and will provide future updates via our firm’s website at