Skip to Content

India Begins Immigration E-Services for Certain FRRO Jurisdictions

23 Feb

Effective February 12, 2018, the Bureau of Immigration, India has announced the implementation of immigration E-Services for all foreign nationals residing within the jurisdiction of the following Foreigners Regional Registration Offices (FRROs):

  • Mumbai FRRO;
  • Delhi FRRO;
  • Bengaluru FRRO; and
  • Chennai FRRO.

The launch of E-Services means that certain visa processes such as extensions, in-country registration, etc. may now be completed through an online procedure. This will negate the need for foreign nationals to visit the FRRO in person, and has been designed to ease the in-country immigration procedures for foreign nationals. While the online E-Services officially were implemented beginning February 12th, certain FRRO offices may still require an in-person appointment during the initial implementation phase of the new process.