Skip to Content

Presidential Proclamation Terminates Restrictions on Travel from Schengen Area, United Kingdom, Ireland and Brazil

19 Jan

On Monday, January 18, 2021, President Trump issued a Presidential Proclamation terminating the restrictions on entry into the United States of travelers who have been physically present in the Schengen area, the United Kingdom, Ireland and Brazil within 14 days prior to entry. 

Citing the recent Centers for Disease Control requirement of proof of a negative COVID-19 test before a traveler may board a plane to the United States, the Presidential Proclamation terminates the previous proclamations that had instituted the restrictions on travel from the Schengen area, the United Kingdom, Ireland and Brazil.  Pursuant to the CDC requirement, all travelers to the United States, including U.S. citizens, must present proof of a negative COVID-19 test within 72 hours of boarding a flight for the United States. 

Citing a lack of cooperation from China and Iran, the January 18 Presidential Proclamation retains travel restrictions on those who have been present in China, excluding Hong Kong and Macau, or Iran within the 14 days prior to traveling to the United States.  Exceptions apply for U.S. Lawful Permanent Residents and certain other categories of travelers, including those whose travel to the United States would be in the national interest.  It is unclear whether the Biden Administration will alter or rescind these restrictions. 

Foster will continue to monitor changes in travel restrictions and will make future updates available as appropriate via our firm website at