Skip to Content

Restrictions on Travel from Most European Countries Continues

24 Apr

On March 11, 2020, President Trump issued a proclamation restricting travel to the United States from most of Europe effective Friday, March 13, 2020. While the restriction was initially to remain in effect for 30 days, the proclamation stated that the restriction would continue until termination by the President. As such, travel to the U.S. from most European countries continues to remain significantly restricted.  
The impacted area of Europe is the Schengen area, which includes 26 European countries that allow for unrestricted movement of people, as well as the United Kingdom and Ireland. 
U.S. citizens and U.S. lawful permanent residents are not excluded from travel to the United States, but they must depart from certain airports where they will be screened prior to departing for the United States. Immediate family members (spouses and children) of U.S. citizens and U.S. lawful permanent residents should also be permitted to travel to the United States following screening.  
Various other countries have implemented their own travel restrictions, which can be found on the Department of State Bureau of Consular Affairs webpage addressing COVID-19 Country Specific Information, as well as the Foster LLP COVID-1 Updates page. Travelers should continue to check with airlines as well as official agency information published by the target country prior to showing up at the airport. 
Foster will continue to monitor government action related to COVID-19 and will provide additional updates on the immigration-related impacts of COVID-19 via our firm’s website at