Skip to Content

United Arab Emirates – Bilateral Visa Waiver Agreement with the European Union

13 May

Beginning May 6, 2015, citizens of the United Arab Emirates (UAE) are permitted visa waiver travel to European Union (EU) member countries that are also party to the Schengen Agreement. The European countries include: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Sweden, Malta, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Greece, Italy, Slovakia, the Czech Republic, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Hungary, Slovenia, Croatia, Bulgaria, Romania, Cyprus, Norway, Portugal, Spain, the Vatican, Andorra, San Marino and Monaco.

In return, the UAE has also waived the visa requirement for those EU/Schengen-Area nationals who were previously required to have a visa to enter the UAE. Per the terms of the Agreement, travel is limited to stays of up to 90 days over any 180-day period.

While the visa waiver program allows entries for purpose of business meetings, tourism, sports, artistic performances, and intra-company training, it does not permit work without the appropriate Emirati or European work authorization.

The Agreement does not apply to the United Kingdom and Ireland as they are not parties to the Schengen Agreement. Further, the Agreement does not apply to Switzerland, Iceland, Norway, and Liechtenstein as they are not parties to the European Union.

As always, Foster will continue to follow updates to global immigration regulations and agreements and their implementation and will provide updates via our firm’s website at